I give you my life…

16 12 2009

One of the benefits of my photography habit has been to re-introduce me back into the world of live music. About three years ago I started writing to bands through Myspace and asking if I could take photos for them at gigs in Edinburgh and I started to get invited to venues by the bands. I have been fortunate enough to see some pretty cool bands, however, last night I took photos at my biggest gig yet.

It’s quite usual for large venues to restrict the number of songs that photographers get to take photographs, the norm is usually three and the usual ‘no flash’ restriction is put in place. The gig last night, however, was the most restrictive I have seen so far. Two songs limit, no flash, oh and can you sign this release form to say that the band have the rights to your photographs, your first born child, any future photographs you ever take in your life  and any photographs that anybody who you have ever met also belongs to the band. Obviously not quite that restrictive but you get the drift.

I have to say though that the band, Them Crooked Vultures gave value for money in the two songs. Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters and Nirvana) rather helpfully poured a bottle of water over his head after the first song, so the second song pictures featured lots of flying water droplets – great for creating atmosphere.

I would love to post a photo of the gig, however, the contract I signed prevents me from doing so. When the website I was working for publishes the review I’ll add a link and you never know, wait a week or two and I may sneak one up..

Actions

Information

One response

16 12 2009
periferite

ah yes, welcome to the content controlled world of the modern music industry!

Leave a Reply

