Entering competitions

18 10 2010

Prior to becoming interested in photography, I was in various Brass Bands at quite a serious level. One of the irritants of brass banding was the need for the bands to prove themselves in competition. As you can imagine you tend to lose more than you win so I always had an unhealthy attitude to competition in the arts, anything artistic is purely opinion therefore you can’t truly award someone for being ‘the best’ as that is purely the opinion of the one or two judges on the panel.

However, I have dipped my toe in one or two photographic competitions and I have found out today that I have a won a prize in the Caledonian Breweries Pic of the Fringe competition! I’d like to say it was one of my best photos, perfectly exposed, excellently composed – the reality is it was a bit of a snap on the Bank Holiday Monday as the fringe was leaving town. Thank you for the judges personal opinion and a bit of money will be very nice, it still doesn’t mean it’s the best photo, just the one they liked.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

