Never shop at Dixons Group, they don’t KNOWHOW to do Customer Service

26 07 2011

My long running dispute with Currys, part of Dixons Retail plc has come to an end, by no means a happy one, but one that at least allows me to get on with doing things I enjoy as opposed to chasing incompetents within the organisation to resolve what should have been a very simple complaint. At the bottom of this post I have included the letter sent by members of Currys ‘Customer Action Team’ and also from the KNOWHOW franchisees who are responsible for delivery – make your own mind up about them, I’m not going to comment on the complaint any more. However,I do want to end this whole sorry episode with some recurring themes that have popped up through the month and half this has been running for.

Pretty much all the people I have spoken to about Currys or Dixons or PC World have all expressed some form of dissatisfaction that has led them to state to me; “I never shop with them now, my expectation is to receive crap experience and it’s usually what I got”. Customers with this point of view are never going to back unless things change significantly – and for information Sebastian James and Katie Bickerstaffe, that change isn’t just rebranding the failed ‘Techguys’ as ‘KNOWHOW’ and expecting anything different.

The other common response I receive from people is that they will only ever go to John Lewis now, yes things may go wrong – they always will and I can accept that as long as they try and prevent it going wrong in the future – but when they do go wrong they fix it quickly and effectively. The repeat business and additional business when customers tell their friends more than outweighs the immediate short-term loss. I’ll be following that advice in the future, just as lots of poor comments are a good indication of poor service the number of positive comments I have received about John Lewis are a good indication of a good experience for the customer.

So what could Currys have done better to improve my experience? Rather than repeat some old-ground on their call centre I made some suggestions in the first post relating to the first point of contact complaint and I’d urge Sebastian James to go there and read what I suggested. I’m assuming he may read the blog given the number of people who pointed him this way yesterday evening (thanks very much for doing so) – sadly, he didn’t have the guts or simply couldn’t be bothered to respond.

However, after I complained to John Browett CEO of the organisation the customer experience could have been better and I shall comment on these learnings for Sebastian to review should he be able to do so whilst also fitting in the various government reviews he gets asked to do (and no doubt paid for) by his ex-school buddy David Cameron;

  • The customer has a contract with Currys (or whichever part of the business they have the misfortune to buy from), therefore don’t hide behind organisational boundaries and get different parts of the organisation respond to different parts of the complaint – seek advice from them, yes, but then speak to the customer as the combined voice of the organisation.
  • Given the immediacy of an e-mail do not press send and leave the business for the day, especially when supervisors or team leaders have left – this gives the impression that the thought process of your ‘Customer Action Team’ is “the message I just sent was a difficult one, I know it hasn’t addressed the concerns of the customer and I am not going to get into that discussion tonight”. If it’s a difficult one and you can’t justify the answer – it’s probably because the answer isn’t right.
  • A very simple one, when you say you are going to make a call, refund a charge, send an e-mail – do it when you said you were going to do it. So many occasions throughout the process I was chasing responses from the organisation because they didn’t do something as simple as make a call. I stressed to them every time that I would rather hear from them to say they need more time than not hear from them.
  • This one is directed at Sebastian James (if anyone else needs to try and contact him his twitter address is @dixonsops). If you chose to open up a Social Media presence in a public area like Twitter and clearly state in your user name that you are representing Dixons then be prepared to receive customer comments and respond to them. Again, my experience would have been better if I had received a tweet saying you will get someone to look into it – instead you buried your head in the sand and ignored social-media pressure and made my experience even worse. Go back a few paragraphs and read again what I said about the change that will bring back customers and how it needs to be real – so far Sebastian James all I see from you is paying lip-service and spinning a story that customer experience is so important to you.
I’ll finish here and re-iterate a message I would like anyone who reads this to follow;

DON’T SHOP AT CURRYS OR DIXONS OR PC WORLD OR ANY OF THE OTHER GROUPS THAT FORM DIXONS RETAIL PLC

– you can find these on the Wikipedia page for Dixons Retail plc.
Thanks to everyone who re-tweeted, posted on Facebook, spread through word of mouth the appalling service I have received and if anyone knows a flooring company that can replace my floor for half price please point them my way.
To close off the sorry tale, here are the last four mails, two from different parts of Dixons Retail plc and my final responses.
From: cumbernauldadm@mastercaredsg.co.uk
Date: 25 July 2011 19:24

Dear Mr Dyson

Firsly, please again accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you in relation to the delivery of your appliance, or in dealing with your claim.

I believe you have been speaking to one of my colleagues Melanie Robinson, First Line Manager from our Call Centre in relation to your telephone conversations to the Call Centre and also to Tom Littlejohn, Operations Manager for our Franchisee CW Scotland since our initial telephone conversation in relation to the points raised in your letter.

I understand that Mr Littlejohn has offered you compensation to the sum of £250 to cover the damage to your your flooring, or the option to pursue the damage claim through his Insurance Company and that Melanie Robinson has offered you £50 as a goodwill gesture over and above this sum. It is also my understanding that you have declined this compensation.

I would like to clarify that we have completed an investigation in relation to the delivery of your appliance and confirm that the individual who visited your home on our behalf has now left the company.

Please be assured that we have taken learnings from your experience and put processes in place to ensure that no other customers are similarly disappointed.

I understand that we have failed to meet your timeslot and provide you with the high level of service which we would normally provide. I would like to make a final offer you to the sum of £350 in total as a good will geature in order that we may bring this matter to conclusion for you. This offer is made to you in full and final settlement of your claim.

Kind Regards

Lynn Liddell

Site Manager

Knowhow Customer Service Centre

Scotland

Mob: 07739 653219

=======================================================================
From: Richard Dyson
Date: 25 July 2011 22:09

Prior to me responding to this e-mail, can you provide me with the e-mail address of Melanie Robinson. I have asked on several occasions that the two elements of the complaint are considered together along with the additional complaint that I have raised concerning the poor customer service I have received as part of the complaints process. For absolute clarity these three elements are;

1. The poor service received by your delivery crew including the damage caused by them which I have already stated has been quoted to me as £575 plus VAT

2. The poor service that has been provided by the call centre in Sheffield where they called me a liar and handled my first point of contact complaint in a disgraceful way.

3. The abysmal way in which the complaint has been handled – there has been poor attitude from members of staff (primarily in the Customer Action Team); not returning calls when promised; refusal to respond to all elements of the complaint in one communication; the amount of time I have had to invest in getting you to provide responses; poor quality responses, including your own, that contain simple spelling mistakes evidencing the importance you place on customer service; the assertion I have turned down the offer of your insurance company – I turned down the derisory offer of £100 and since this time you have prevaricated in engaging your insurance company.

You may wish to reconsider your e-mail based on this feedback and finally respond in a way that represents the combined views of all areas of Currys.

I have asked Melanie to call me before 10am tomorrow and I still expect this telephone call where I shall raise the same issues as I have stated here. I have also been trying to engage Sebastian James through his twitter account and used significant social media contacts to raise the poor service awareness with him. I shall continue to use this medium until such time as I receive a response which meets my requirements expressed in various e-mails and telephone conversations.

===============================================================

From: SCCCustomerSolutionsTeam@dixonsretail.com
Date: 26 July 2011 13:28

Dear Mr Dyson

Following on from our recent telephone call this morning, I am able to confirm that I am now in receipt of the decision in respect of your complaint, issued by Lynn Liddell our Scotland site Manager.

I see from the mail sent that Lynn has offered you a more than generous sum of money, £350.00, in respect of your complaint about the delivery aspects of your matter, inclusive of your property damage claim.

During our conversations we have discussed the poor communications that you have witnessed and as a result of your feedback, I have initiated my own internal investigations with the members of staff that have touched your good self at some point on your journey with us.

I proposed to offer you £50.00 because of the experience that you have encountered when you initiated correspondence between you and our Contact Centre, this offer remains.

This further offer means that your total compensation package reaches a sum of £400.00 in full and final settlement of your claim, without prejudice from the KNOWHOW™ team.

May I assure you that we will continue to improve our business end to end to ensure that this type of complaint is eradicated and that further purchases that you may make in the future will result in you receiving a standard of service that not only meets your expectations but exceeds them.

Please let me know as soon as possible if you wish to accept our offer, I look forward to speaking with you again shortly.

Yours sincerely

Melanie Robinson

DSG Retail Limited Customer Solutions Manager

KNOWHOW™ Customer Contact Centre

Tel: 01142 806021

====================================================================
From: Richard Dyson
Date: 26 July 2011 17:35

Dear Ms Robinson,

Thank you for your response which has combined the response of the various parts of the Dixons Group involved in this complaint.

Whilst I do not, and will not in the future, accept that the offer received from Lynn as ‘more than generous’, given the damage caused by your employees amounted to £575 plus VAT, (i.e. £714) I will reluctantly accept the offer that is now being proposed from your company of £400 relating to £350 for damage caused to flooring and £50 in relation to the quality of service provided by your call centre function.

It is obvious throughout the entire process that I have been ‘banging on a closed door’ in terms of your customer service and whilst your public display of improving customer service is spun in the press by the likes of Sebastian James, the actions I have seen throughout this process are the demonstration of reality.

Given the legislative changes that were made to ‘Faster Payments’ between banks last year, I do not think it is unreasonable to receive the sum of £400 by the end of this week (Friday 29 July 2011). In order to assist you my Bank Account details are as follows – Sort Code: xx-xx-xx; Account Number xxxxxxxx

I note your comments in relation to the customer service improvements you are making, however, I do not intend to test in the future if they have had any effect. This entire experience has left me in a position where I would not have any desire to shop in any part of the Dixons Group in the future and I will strive to ensure that any of my friends, colleagues and other contacts are fully aware of the experience I have had and can hopefully decide to take the same position.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Dyson

Actions

Information

27 responses

27 07 2011
Kelly

I’ve been reading this since coming across your Tweets with vague interest, but I must have missed the point, until now, that you had the option to settle (possibly in full) with an insurer. I have worked in transport and franchisee drivers nearly always have their own insurance to settle larger claims; I would suspect that would be a requirement with a company as large and prone to claims as Dixons. Why did you not just do that, if you were so deeply intent on a sum of over £700? Nevermind that, again, having worked in transport and delivery, I have been privy to all sorts of similar claims, and that amount is absolutely gratuitous for a gouged wooden floor!

I’m glad your claim has been settled, and there’s no doubt that you didn’t have a fantastic experience. However, I don’t think your response to the situation has been at all measured. What you call “social media pressure” borders on harassment, and complaining about pithy points — like the drivers taking 13 minutes instead of their ‘promised’ 10, or wanting compensation for your “day being ruined” over 10 or 20 minutes — make you seem massively unreasonable. Had you been trying to go somewhere via train, and signalling problems had made the trains 20 minutes late, would you have demanded compensation from them? Actually, I rather suspect you would.

I know people who have submitted similar claims against Currys and other companies, as it seems minor property damage with white goods deliveries is unfortunately somewhat common. Where my acquaintances have been patient, polite, and submitted REASONABLE quotes for repair, no one I know has met any resistance from Currys and has had their claim settled satisfactorily. While Dixons was definitely at fault here in the beginning, and on certain continued points — like not delivering on prior promises — I think it might be worth remembering that a little patience and courtesy can go a long way with large organisational call centres. You seem to possess neither quality in any great measure, and perhaps you would have more luck in future if you considered this.

27 05 2014
Alberto

Hello all, I have been experiencing terrible lack or reasonableness from Currys Dixons Know how whoever. I had a fridge freezer delivered last November. the delivery guys not only damaged my concrete block driveway, but also my dining room, living room, kitchen, utility, plastic decking outside the rear door. One of them actually cut his arm with he sharp piece of metal that was protruding from underneath the fridge freezer. They slid the unit all over my Amtico and Karndean floors. so far the damage is in excess of 14 thousand pounds ! and they have only offered 7.5k. I have been very reasonable throughout as I understand accidents happen, however this is tantamount to vandalism ! Can anybody help wit advice as to what to do next as due to circumstances, I cannot afford – as was suggested by the assessor – to have everything replaced and send them the bill. They have all told me different stories including “get the quotes and we will send you the money”, which I did, in writing – and they haven’t sent the money. They also told me Currys Dixons do not have insurance ! If they haven’t given me a penny yet, how on earth can I believe they will give me payment when I send them invoices ! Look forward to some help. kind Regards. Albs

28 07 2011
David

I think the support you received (FOUR whole RTs) is just incredible and you’ve definitely shown Dixons! I suspect Seb’s lack of response is due to him quaking in his boots because he’s so worried to lose your precious custom!

28 07 2011
trixtaphotography

I’m guessing as you refer to him as Seb you are an employee, and one of the ones who are so desperate not be part of the next round of redundancies that you will say whatever he wants you to say. If not, my apologies, you just sound that way. I’m not really bothered how many people RT in all honesty, I know how many people have read this and if some of those are saved from shopping there and getting the same level of service my job is done. Melanie was quite proud that we only receive complaints from 3% of our customers. When ‘Seb’ did respond to one of the people who have been messaging him on my behalf he mentioned how hard it is to keep 15 million customers happy – do the maths, Dixons Retail plc are proud to only annoy 450,000 customers a year! Now there is customer service in action!

30 07 2011
techy

450000 customers a year let down,X how much £

8 01 2013
peter Fellows

Because your claim was for over £250 OR £500 (I THINK IS THE LIMIT THEY SET) this is why it has been challenged, I know many people who make claims against Currys for damage just to get a new floor or anything really. I got a new leather sofa, claiming they ripped it as they forced my new fridge freezer passed it. Currys staff are bullied into putting your new item where ever you want it so all i did is make the rear entrance inaccessable so they had to struggle through my living room. I didnt have a problem with the claim because it was for £250, They sent me the cheque. I took the kids to Alton Towers and went to Skeggy for the week end all on Currys (thank you Mr Currys) I learnt this from a friend of mine who has also made claims from them for a new floor. His mother had her hall redecorated all bogus claims, Taking advantage of their inadequate operation my friend says. He told someone he works with how to do it and they also had a new floor, Then he sent the item back within 28 days to get a refund So he had a new floor without even buying off them in the end. A collegue of mine has also had new lights fitted outside claiming Currys damaged them when they delivered his American fridge freezer, So you may feel you lost on your claim but gather comfort from all those who continue to take them for a ride, Get a friend to order from them claim some damage after its been delivered, as long as its under say £250 ish they just pay out to save sending anyone out and messing around. then send the item back for a refund within 28 days, it doesnt have to be faulty just say its not doing the job as you thought. That reminds me i could do with a new carpet, in my hall, guess who will pay for it??

20 02 2013
Moulay

I am one of the 450000 and I use to spend over £1000 for business use. Now no more. At this rate the company will be in Trouble in less than 10 years.

21 03 2013
trixtaphotography

It would appear you haven’t read the posts – it was all to do with the drivers not being bothered to do what I had paid for, nothing to do with access. Maybe the inability to read was the original cause and you haven’t exactly done anything to prove otherwise?

17 04 2013
leicester6262@hotmail.co.uk

that knowhow of currys are appsalupe joke of a service unreliable they bring you a loan laptop with the wrong charger never again

22 10 2013
David Owen

Could you please give me the email address for Melanie Robinson. I had an unsatisfactory series of phone calls yesterday with Knowhow and, rather than issuing county court proceedings, it may be appropriate to speak directly with her. Thanks

24 10 2013
Chris

Hi. My name is Chris and I’m currently one of the 3%. 😦 I have found the staff to be rude and was told that the member of staff dealing with my complaint had a million and one things to do and that I was not top of the list! When I complained about his attitude I was told that I was the one with the attitude problem. I am always quietly spoken and polite so I found this very offensive and unnecessary. Do you have any contact details for the senior management of this company? I am sick and tired of dealing with their uber monkeys already. Thank you!

15 11 2013
toadmeister2011D

I have had a total nightmare trying to return a tv which was bought online and delievered yesterday only to be faulty. I know the following is quite lengthy but thought I should share my record of contact with their so called “knowhow” team for others to be made aware of how appalling their service is :
14/11/13 – Product delivered. Sound faulty and Smart TV NOT full smart capable.
Called @ 15:00 : Initially asked for refund with ref#3378914676
Was given next day collection between 9am-11am.
Full refund within 10 days.

Called @ 15:25, spoke to Cathryn, to enquire about replacement.
Was told by Cathryn replacement will take 2 days after return which goes against next day delivery they promise.
Was told there is option of taking into store for immediate replacement. When informed I am in
wheelchair I was reminded AGAIN that there was another option to go into store.

Asked to speak to manager. After 10 minutes on hold was told a manager wasn’t available and would call within 5 minutes (15:53).

Called back after 40 minutes to be told by Saima I had to be put on hold again while they “talk to the manager”. 5 minutes on hold then was then told the manager wasn’t available right now!! and asked if they cud help
Was put on hold AGAIN to try and locate ANOTHER manager.
After 10 minutes on hold was told the manager tried calling
me 10 minutes ago on my home telephone and it was engaged! Why do that when I am currently on the phone on hold? Was told they left a message. Informed Saima that it was my mobile they were given and NOT my home number.
Was put on hold AGAIN while Saima got another manager for me. After 5 minutes was told no managers were available and she would assist me.

I told her the three issues (along with illegal actions). She then still agreed I wasn’t treated differently even after my detailed explanation. After a detailed discussion she admitted she couldn’t help me and would get a manager to call me back within 19 hours (12noon tomorrow).

Listened to voicemail and message was left from the first manager telling me she had finished for the day and gave me a number to call in order to speak to another manager who is available. 0844 561 6263. Was told TV would be collected between 9am-11am with confirmation
sent to mobile.

15/11/13
@ 10:30am got mobile message stating product would be collected between 11am-1pm. Called to enquire and was told that it was due to traffic problems in my area. 10 minutes on hold while they spoke to courier. While waiting got another text saying the driver came to my house and I wasn’t at home and to rearrange collection for next week. Person on phone then came back and asked what colour door I had? This was because the driver said outside my home there was no parking and he had to park 2 streets away and lock his van before chapping my “white” door. Informed them that there is ample parking outside my home and ALL doors in the area are white.
Put on hold for another 10 minutes before being told the delivery driver will be back out today but cant give me a time slot, instead driver will call me to arrange a time to pick up today. Before ending call I informed them to just cancel the replacement TV and give me a FULL refund. Total length of call = 35 minutes
@13:25 called as no one called with time for pick up. Was given DPD ref #C0041913070. Was told DPD phone lines were down for 15 minutes! but Currys will speak to them and call me back within 15 minutes (13.50).

Courier arrived at door @ 13:50. No prior phone call. Interrogated me why it had to be
collected between 9-11 since I was going to be home all day. Was very abrupt and ignorant. Gave me a form then asked if how many parcels to collect and did I want to send it back!!! Told him that’s why he was here, heated argument then he asked for form back. Asked him why he gave the form at start and was told I needed to sign it. Asked for a pen which he said he didn’t have When I informed him I didn’t have a pen at hand he got more aggressive and stated that he would have to go to his “F&*King” van for a pen. He grabbed the boxed tv from my hallway beside the front door and dragged it out onto concrete path. He then left with no return!!!!! Leaving me standing on doorstep for 10 minutes before I had to return the TV to my hallway and go and check what was keeping him only to find he had left.

@14:10. Spoke to Jonty who apologised for behaviour of DPD.0 Said he will contact DPD immediately to rearrange pickup today and will call me back no matter what outcome he gets.

@ 14:35 Jonty called back. Informed me he spoke to DPD and requested TV to be picked up today by different driver. DPD trying to contact depot and will call back regarding pick up time.
Jonty raised a case with ref #cc0002121412. Told me he has escalated it and requested I receive compensation. Jonty said he will keep me up-to-date with any news he receives from DPD.

@17:00 Jenny Said there was no way I could get a collection today and it will now be Monday between 9 and 5. Told her I wanted a two hour time slot like yesterday as I had hospital on Monday afternoon. She said that was impossible and continued without letting me talk. I asked her to put a manager on.
She continued to talk to me while I was talking, saying that she was just going to tell me what she had to say anyway! Finally got put onto a manager, Kiran who firstly just reiterated what her colleague just told me. I asked why I was able to get 2 hour time slot yesterday before she spoke over me telling me she didn’t know why and didn’t care as she wouldn’t be looking into it!!!
I explained that Monday pm was not suitable but was told that 9-5 was best they could offer or otherwise it would be Tuesday. Told her I don’t want the product in my home longer than necessary after today’s behaviour and wanted my cash back asap. She then told me she had given me a first warning!!! for my aggression towards her.
Also told me I was the one making it difficult for collection!!!
Told me DPD investigated the matter earlier today and driver said he wasn’t aggressive but it was me who was!!! Asked why I would be aggressive and not let him collect the item I do not want.
I was then told I was on my second warning and next time she was just going to end the call!!!
Then told me I should hang up, think about my options before calling back and give them a solution and to stop being difficult!!!
At this point, getting VERY angry and frustrated I told her it would have to be Monday so I get my money back they are still holding but I won’t be available in afternoon. Was told if that’s the case then it would be marked down as a missed collection and I would have to rebook it.
Finished the call by basically telling the manager how unprofessional and unsupportive towards customers their company was and that my next step would be to go to a lawyer as well as trading standards regarding this issue. Her reply was “Fine Mr Law..Goodbye”!!!

15 11 2013
toadmeister2011D

I have had a total nightmare trying to return a tv which was bought online and delievered yesterday only to be faulty. I know the following is quite lengthy but thought I should share my record of contact with their so called “knowhow” team for others to be made aware of how appalling their service is :
14/11/13 – Product delivered. Sound faulty and Smart TV NOT full smart capable.
Called @ 15:00 : Initially asked for refund with ref#3378914676
Was given next day collection between 9am-11am.
Full refund within 10 days.

Called @ 15:25, spoke to Cathryn, to enquire about replacement.
Was told by Cathryn replacement will take 2 days after return which goes against next day delivery they promise.
Was told there is option of taking into store for immediate replacement. When informed I am in
wheelchair I was reminded AGAIN that there was another option to go into store.

Asked to speak to manager. After 10 minutes on hold was told a manager wasn’t available and would call within 5 minutes (15:53).

Called back after 40 minutes to be told by Saima I had to be put on hold again while they “talk to the manager”. 5 minutes on hold then was then told the manager wasn’t available right now!! and asked if they cud help
Was put on hold AGAIN to try and locate ANOTHER manager.
After 10 minutes on hold was told the manager tried calling
me 10 minutes ago on my home telephone and it was engaged! Why do that when I am currently on the phone on hold? Was told they left a message. Informed Saima that it was my mobile they were given and NOT my home number.
Was put on hold AGAIN while Saima got another manager for me. After 5 minutes was told no managers were available and she would assist me.

I told her the three issues (along with illegal actions). She then still agreed I wasn’t treated differently even after my detailed explanation. After a detailed discussion she admitted she couldn’t help me and would get a manager to call me back within 19 hours (12noon tomorrow).

Listened to voicemail and message was left from the first manager telling me she had finished for the day and gave me a number to call in order to speak to another manager who is available. 0844 561 6263. Was told TV would be collected between 9am-11am with confirmation
sent to mobile.

15/11/13
@ 10:30am got mobile message stating product would be collected between 11am-1pm. Called to enquire and was told that it was due to traffic problems in my area. 10 minutes on hold while they spoke to courier. While waiting got another text saying the driver came to my house and I wasn’t at home and to rearrange collection for next week. Person on phone then came back and asked what colour door I had? This was because the driver said outside my home there was no parking and he had to park 2 streets away and lock his van before chapping my “white” door. Informed them that there is ample parking outside my home and ALL doors in the area are white.
Put on hold for another 10 minutes before being told the delivery driver will be back out today but cant give me a time slot, instead driver will call me to arrange a time to pick up today. Before ending call I informed them to just cancel the replacement TV and give me a FULL refund. Total length of call = 35 minutes
@13:25 called as no one called with time for pick up. Was given DPD ref #C0041913070. Was told DPD phone lines were down for 15 minutes! but Currys will speak to them and call me back within 15 minutes (13.50).

Courier arrived at door @ 13:50. No prior phone call. Interrogated me why it had to be
collected between 9-11 since I was going to be home all day. Was very abrupt and ignorant. Gave me a form then asked if how many parcels to collect and did I want to send it back!!! Told him that’s why he was here, heated argument then he asked for form back. Asked him why he gave the form at start and was told I needed to sign it. Asked for a pen which he said he didn’t have When I informed him I didn’t have a pen at hand he got more aggressive and stated that he would have to go to his “F&*King” van for a pen. He grabbed the boxed tv from my hallway beside the front door and dragged it out onto concrete path. He then left with no return!!!!! Leaving me standing on doorstep for 10 minutes before I had to return the TV to my hallway and go and check what was keeping him only to find he had left.

@14:10. Spoke to Jonty who apologised for behaviour of DPD.0 Said he will contact DPD immediately to rearrange pickup today and will call me back no matter what outcome he gets.

@ 14:35 Jonty called back. Informed me he spoke to DPD and requested TV to be picked up today by different driver. DPD trying to contact depot and will call back regarding pick up time.
Jonty raised a case with ref #cc0002121412. Told me he has escalated it and requested I receive compensation. Jonty said he will keep me up-to-date with any news he receives from DPD.

@17:00 Jenny Said there was no way I could get a collection today and it will now be Monday between 9 and 5. Told her I wanted a two hour time slot like yesterday as I had hospital on Monday afternoon. She said that was impossible and continued without letting me talk. I asked her to put a manager on.
She continued to talk to me while I was talking, saying that she was just going to tell me what she had to say anyway! Finally got put onto a manager, Kiran who firstly just reiterated what her colleague just told me. I asked why I was able to get 2 hour time slot yesterday before she spoke over me telling me she didn’t know why and didn’t care as she wouldn’t be looking into it!!!
I explained that Monday pm was not suitable but was told that 9-5 was best they could offer or otherwise it would be Tuesday. Told her I don’t want the product in my home longer than necessary after today’s behaviour and wanted my cash back asap. She then told me she had given me a first warning!!! for my aggression towards her.
Also told me I was the one making it difficult for collection!!!
Told me DPD investigated the matter earlier today and driver said he wasn’t aggressive but it was me who was!!! Asked why I would be aggressive and not let him collect the item I do not want.
I was then told I was on my second warning and next time she was just going to end the call!!!
Then told me I should hang up, think about my options before calling back and give them a solution and to stop being difficult!!!
At this point, getting VERY angry and frustrated I told her it would have to be Monday so I get my money back they are still holding but I won’t be available in afternoon. Was told if that’s the case then it would be marked down as a missed collection and I would have to rebook it.
Finished the call by basically telling the manager how unprofessional and unsupportive towards customers their company was and that my next step would be to go to a lawyer as well as trading standards regarding this issue. Her reply was “Fine Mr Law..Goodbye”!!!

15 06 2014
John

Currys, absolutly useless. been in twice now and on both occasions, had no service and walked out after 30 mins without buying anything

16 06 2014
Tony Allen

Have had similar experiences, different departments, Knowhow will only accept letters, which go missing. Phone call on a Sunday which is now termed “an interview”
Question about misselling insurance Response was Financial Services will not be interested as we do NOT sell insurance only agreements.
Be warned about the “insurance/agreement” sold

5 09 2014
marian mccann

My Laptop from Currys PC World stopped after 6months, I was told it was not covered under the 1st year warranty because of “liquid damage” (a complete Lie) I had it looked at by an Independent eng, it was the battery, they still refuse to do anything about it. I am a 71 year old pensioner, and they have ripped me off good and proper

28 11 2014
steve

We paid Currys £40 for delivery of a new Washing machine and an extra £45 for fitting – they were unable to fit it due to the lack of a drain adapter (£10 B&Q) – So I complained and was offered the full £85 back !!
On a different occasion – they delivered a new Fridge freezer and left it – boxed up with all packaging in the middle of the kitchen floor – we had expected the packaging to be removed and the thing slid in to place (not a difficult task) – but my wife was at home on her own at the time !

25 05 2015
Lindsay D

Just today I had a new freezer delivered by Curry’s and even though I put a folded sheet down and asked them to slide it across my wood floor on the sheet, they ignored the sheet and dragged the freezer across the bare floor leaving gouges in it. I’m absolutely gutted. They took some crude photographs which looked blurred and told me their claims department would be in touch within the next few weeks. Unfortunately replacing a wood floor is expensive (this one runs throughout the hall and living area and any areas replaced have to be with the same wood – you can’t get this anymore because I bought it end of line) and I cannot see that they will make good, given the awful reviews I have been reading. I took every precaution to safeguard my floor and the negligence of the delivery men was astounding. To make matters worse the freezer they delivered is unusable because it is damaged. I am gutted.

25 05 2015
trixtaphotography

I would suggest that you take legal action with this, you have done more than was required and they have still damaged your possessions. That shouldn’t be subject to their ridiculous ‘maximum claim’ value. Good luck!

25 05 2015
Lindsay D

Thank you – I’ll let you know what happens. Fixing this floor will not be an easy job and could be expensive. From what I have been reading here and elsewhere I do not feel hopeful. I bitterly regret not going straight to John Lewis, but with my food spoiling in my old freezer Curry’s offered the convenience of an immediate bank holiday delivery. The food is of course ruined, because we can’t put it in the new damaged freezer. Frustrating is not the word!

25 05 2015
Lindsay D

I forgot to say – while the men were delivering the freezer we got a phone call from the bank telling us the credit card had been used today fraudulently. The only time the card has been used in the last week was for the regular weekly shopping (where one of us is present) – but the credit card was used to pay for the freezer over the phone at Curry’s yesterday.

2 06 2015
TonyAllen

I had an extended battle and had emails letters from Currys Dixons, PC World, KnowHow, Mastercare and finally DSG Retail legal department.
Trading standards were a waste of space, redirected to Citizens Advice at 12p a minute and end result was do it yourself.
Dont get done get Dom sorted it.
Watchdog also did shows. We were on air 2 weeks ago and Ann Robinson was o the One Show later that week and commented on Currys Group.
Keep all the paperwork and emails. Beware as Currys rang at 4pm on a Sunday Afternoon and attempted an interview. They could record.
My advice is Do not trust this group, and avoid purchases

8 06 2015
M Zenonos

I am in dispute with Curry’s also currently they sold me a faulty dishwasher have had two engineers out to it and it is still not working. The product was faulty when sold to me the motor is faulty confirmed by their engineer that it should not be sold in tis condition. No one takes ownership, I have written to CEO Sebastian ? the letters have just been passed on to customer service and the representative from CS is so complacent and rude its unbelievable I am going to take to small claims court, I don’t want a refund just a replacement product, I said I would pay extra also if necessary. Businesses like this do not deserve our business. Also, if the CEO’s office read some of the letters they received and looked into how the problems were solved they would be shocked on how their customers are treated. Currently this business is making money however as large as they are things can go wrong, what goes around comes around. I purchase a lot of electrical appliances they can see this on my customer profile, however, I AM NOT going to use them again, I may only be a small fish, but is the small fishes that are their bread and butter!!!!!
No Customer Service whatsoever

10 06 2015
TonyAllen

Be careful I had a very long dispute which involved DSG retail legal department. (Parent Company). I believe small claims will take place near their registered office.
Use Sale of Goods Act.
Try consumer shows. Dont get Done get Dom and Watchdog have had good success with Currys group

8 06 2015
Lindsay D

By way of update, Currys have asked me to get quotes to make good the flooring damage from two flooring contractors, and this will also involve getting quotes for redecoration given that the skirting boards need to be ripped off and replaced. They also suggested I try a wood repair kit – this is after my describing the 10 foot long gouges in my hallway (shame I can’t add photos to this post).How I am supposed to get time to do this I don’t know – like most business owners I work six or seven days a week including Saturdays. Anyway, having returned the damaged fridge freezer to Currys we ordered a replacement from John Lewis – a very different experience I am pleased to say. The John Lewis delivery men had brought their own pads and covers on which to place the fridge whilst it was pushed down the hallway. They were very quick and courteous. Other than that, I have received several apologies from Currys by e-mail but whether this attitude is borne out once the quotes come in (they’ll be well into 4 figures) remains to be seen. I don’t want a new floor, the disruption will be hideous, but it looks like there is no other option (unless I’m prepared to live with the damage, which I’m not).

11 12 2015
Nick

I’m in the same boat my claim has been going on for 1 year, at one point the closed the case without my knowledge. I purchased a fridge freezer when they came to deliver it they didn’t have the knowhow van it was a third party company that they use finding that out after Sking them.
They tried to bring it in from the front of the house soon as they started to lift the fridge into the house I made it very clear and kept on repeatedly saying “DO NOT SCRATCH MY EXPENSIVE FLOOR” they said don’t worry the fridges have wheels on them so they glide in. After trying so hard pushing it down the hallway and Trying to fit it through the dinning room door they gave up and took it back they way they came in as I was in front of them I didn’t see all the scratches soon as they went back I saw it and at that point I just flipped. I said u can try from the rear of the property so they did while I opened the back door to make way. They eventually got it through the garden and in to the property the fridge was now standing on a large door mat. Yet again I said “PLEASE DO NOT SCRATCH MY FLOOR” did they listen hell no 2, 2 meter long scratches from my back door to the kitchen now this time to add more fuel to the fire they damaged the fridge in diffrent places. They just left the fridge and said to call currys and that they would replace the doors or give compensation for the fridge. Long story short they replaced the fridge but this time diffrent delivery guys they made it look so easy they lifted the fridge into place without any scratches.
They also asked for quotes which I provided the cost of the complete job to replace my entire ground floor soil oak floor was in excess of £6000 they started to negotiate price to end the dispute. Also mentioned if the damaged planks could be repaired or replaced how are expected to find the same floor that was installed 4 years go to match? They also had the nerve to tell me that the floor can be sanded down and re-varnished.

The fight continues I don’t know what to do

29 01 2016
KSmith

I am having major issues with KnowHow at the moment. I have a Bosch washer/dryer and I called them out as I had a slight, intermittent squeak. To date I have no machine. Almost 2 months on every time an engineer has come out, they have broken something on the machine that was working perfectly fine prior to their visit. They are out again next week for their 5th visit! Extremely stressful and inconvenient keep having to come out of work. KnowHow told me they understand but an almost ‘tough’ attitude and told me they do not prioritise their customers. I wish I had never booked them in to look at my machine. The engineers are ‘cowboys’ and have now broken my machine and the next visit is 4th February ’16’ and since middle of December ’15’ when they first broke my machine, I have had issues. Never, ever use them!

Leave a Reply

